Denver DUI/DWAI Defense Attorney
In Colorado, if you’ve been arrested and charged with drunk driving (with a blood alcohol level above .08), you have 7 days to request a Department of Motor Vehicle hearing or you will temporarily lose your driver’s license.
If you miss the deadline to request a hearing, you will not have another opportunity to defend yourself or to retain your driver’s license until your criminal case comes to court, often months later.
After a drunk driving arrest, you cannot afford to wait. Contact a lawyer as soon as possible to protect your driver’s license. Call me, defense attorney Beth Krulewitch at 888-386-7578 or contact me online. I will defend you at the motor vehicle hearing and in criminal court.
Experienced Defense When it Matters Most
For more than 20 years I have defended clients in Colorado courts facing a wide range of criminal charges. I began my career in the Public Defender’s office, where for 11 years I provided my clients the high-quality defense they deserved. I handled thousands of criminal cases in that time. I now have a private practice defending people against criminal charges, as well as handling criminal appeals.
From my offices in Denver and Aspen, I defend clients (including drivers with CDLs) across the state of Colorado against any and all drunk driving charges, including:
- DUI (driving under the influence)
- DWAI (driving while ability impaired – a lesser offense)
- DUID (driving under the influence of drugs)
- Repeat offender DUI
- Traffic Violations
In addition to the more serious offense of drunk driving, I also represent people who face license suspension, license revocation, or jail time for serious traffic violations, or who are at risk of being designated a “habitual traffic offender” under Colorado motor vehicle law.
There are several ways to be deemed a habitual offender, including:
- Accumulating three convictions in a 7-year period for major traffic violations such as:
- DUI, DWAI or driving while a habitual user of a controlled substance
- Driving while license suspended or revoked
- Committing vehicular assault, vehicular homicide, or aggravated motor vehicle theft
- Being involved in an accident resulting in death or injuries if you failed to assist as required by law
- Accumulating in a 5-year period, 10 or more traffic offense convictions of four or more points, OR
- Accumulating in a 5-year period, 18 or more traffic convictions of three or less points.
I defend people facing any kind of moving violation, including:
- Driving under revocation (DUR) license
- Driving under suspension (DUS)
- Speeding tickets
- Careless/reckless driving
- Vehicular homicide
- Driving with no insurance
- Seatbelt violations
When you seek the strategic advantage in court, contact my Denver or Aspen law office to learn more about what I can do to help. I offer a free initial consultation and flexible appointments.